York Map

I ordered two old maps of York and they arrived yesterday. I was a bit disappointed that Plow’s Rectory Buildings, where Duke and Mary Anne lived when they first moved, is not marked although I know the buildings were behind St Deny’s church, which is marked on this map with a red circle. (Click to see a large version)

map

But I just realized today that Plow’s Yard, which is where Mary Ann (Duke’s wife) died in 1882, is marked on the map. Scroll up to see the area marked with a blue circle. I found out that St. Maurice’s Road used to be called Barker Hill. (Note: Who else did we find on Barker Hill?)

One other note – I didn’t mark it, but you can see the glass factory on this map if you scroll down below the red circle. It was huge!

Leave a comment

Filed under My Family, The Dukes

Leave a Reply

